Lineup 2016

Dub Kartel

Halifax, NS

“Raising up the standard of a dance floor”; the mission of this live, seven-piece Dancehall Reggae band, Dub Kartel.

Over the past five years, the Halifax (NS) based group has honed their sound in the Canadian festival, club, and bar circuits, developing their unique blend of high energy, all-original Reggae, Dancehall, and Hip-Hop. Through positivity and an all-inclusive attitude, Dub Kartel creates an interactive live experience filled with improvisation, that entertains both audience and band members alike. With the impending release of their debut, self-titled full-length LP, these “B’ys from down the east” could not be more excited to bring their sound “unlike no other” to as many stages as possible.

A tight-knit group of seven longtime friends, DK has spent the majority of their lives “jamming till the sun comes up” traveling and discovering new sounds together. A group of adrenaline junkies with a passion for good vibes and high-grade sensi, DK is a “full collective” of individuals who each represent an essential piece of the Dub Kartel sound.

Viewing each performance as a chance to create a new experience for their audiences and get their own creative juices pumping, their shows feature spontaneous guest appearances, new original mashups, free-styled verses and creative covers. Typically playing with no set list, DK prefers making their song choices based on the crowd’s energy allowing for spur of the moment selections that keeps everyone on their toes. DK has earned the reputation of being the ‘Best Band to Get Trashed to’ (The Coast Magazine Readers’ Poll, 2014-15) in Halifax and looks forward to defending that title in 2016.

Having already shared the stage with internationally-acclaimed acts such as Beenie Man, Gyptian and Ganga Giri, as well as Canadian stars Rich Aucoin, Shad and Kayo, the B’ys can’t wait to see what the future holds and to “spread that music” wherever they go.

Dub Kartel is: Tom Hill, Charlie Benoit, David “Badger” Stout, Richard McNeil, Charlie Hill, Teddy Skiffington and Kyle “KDZ” McCracken.

The 2016 List So Far…

Similar Posts